No more resolutions! It’s time to achieve your goals!

It’s the 7th day of the new year:  Happy New Year!  How are your New Year’s resolutions coming along?  How about thinking of your resolutions as goals?  When drawing up goals, you have to take into consideration who you are, what you are willing to do to attain them and the circumstances surrounding you while you are trying to achieve them. Good goals are SMART.  They are specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely.   It is always good to write them down and place them somewhere where you can see them every day.  Create a document and make it your screen saver on your laptop.  Stick them on your fridge.  Be accountable to a friend and have him call you periodically to encourage you to stick with it.

One of my health goals this year is reconnecting with friends.  I realized that I had forgotten to keep my support group alive in the past several years.  There is a relationship between having a strong support group, longevity and good health. My goal reads as follows:

I will contact and have meaningful conversation with at least 12 friends in the area (Chicago) that I have lost contact with and set up ways to reconnect with them on a regular basis by March 31, 2011 so that I grow my circle of friends and become part of the life of significant people in my life.

I’ll give you another one of my goals, but after that you are on!

I will attain a healthy weight of 170 lbs by March 31, 2011 by committing to doing cardio at least 3 times/week for at least 30 minutes at a high intensity;  doing resistance and coordination exercises at least twice/week for each body area for 1 hour; and redesigning my diet to eliminate wheat products and simple sugars from the beginning of the year.

Now check out your goals to see if your WRITTEN goals were specific, measurable, attainable, realistic, and timely.  The important part is not only knowing your goal, but also incorporating a brief summary of your plan to get there into your statement.

Well, IT’S YOUR TURN to take the first step in achieving your 2011 Goals!!


About nuchiro

I graduated from National University of Health Sciences in Lombard, IL in 2005 with a Doctor of Chiropractic degree. I have also been a certified personal trainer since 1999. I believe that Total Wellness, of which physical fitness is only a part, can be achieved relatively easily when people focus on attaining a harmonious balance in the different aspects of their lives. For an appointment, feel free to contact me at dr.veaz@nuchiro.com .
This entry was posted in Attitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.